happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

New Year’s Fun

on January 10, 2014

Warning to my regular readers: the majority of this post is about quilting!

I’ve never been one for successful New Year’s resolutions, until a year about 20 years ago when I made a resolution to buy more shoes (I was a stay at home mom and never had shoes to match an outfit if I wanted to put on grown up clothes and venture out into the adult world!) . This resolution was a resounding success, and my closet is currently overflowing with shoes!

So this year I decided it was time to make another fun resolution. Ever since I bought my new sewing machine I have been more anxious than ever to improve my quilting skills, especially my free motion quilting skills. This is the reason I bought my new machine after all! I have been reading books and blogs to get tips and hints. I had found the Leah Day Free Motion Quilting Project a year or so ago and was intrigued, but I’ve never put in the time to practice this skill. When she announced her Building Blocks Quilt Along it sounded like:

1. just what I needed to practice my quilting skills

2. a slow enough pace that I would be able to keep up with it

3. Fun!!

So I am on my way! Last week i picked out my fabrics. Leah recommended solids so the quilting would show up and we could see our mistakes. I liked hers so much I just decided to copy hers. While looking on-line for fabric, I became seduced by all the pretty colors. I thought to myself: navy and a bright lime green will achieve the same result. Before I could get to the fabric store, I started to experience a little guilt. I recently did this:

Pat's Iphone 810

to my fabric with the hopes that I would actually use it more! See that lime green batik sticking out? Possibly enough there  to use? When I measured it and realized it was 2-3/4 yards, the exact amount required for this project, I knew it was a sign! I’m using the green from my stash and bought a navy blue for the rest.

I spent Monday morning making this weeks 3 blocks. When it came time to press the seams open, I really resisted. I love pressing to the side, butting the seams together and creating perfectly joined seams!!

But I said to myself: “You have already ignored the advice about using solid colors, you”re going to ignore this advice too? You joined this project to learn something – you can’t learn if you don’t try something new!”

I pressed them open.

Here’s the result. Never fear, I have no problem seeing my mistakes!

qb#2

qb#1 I think I do a better job matching seams when I press to the side, but the block definitely lays flatter when seams are pressed open.

So far, I’m enjoying my first quilt along and hoping I can keep up. I love my fabric choice and don’t think I will get tired of working with it all year long!

Today I’m linking up with The Free Motion Quilting Project (another first!)

9 responses to “New Year’s Fun

  1. I’ve been quilting along with Leah for two years. I can’t begin to say just how much more confident I have become. I even made my very first whole cloth quilt this past fall. You are going to love this course as much or more than seeking out the perfect shoe for each outfit. BTW quilting will show up on a batik fabric that reads close to a solid. Prints, especially novelty prints won’t let your quilting shine through.

  2. Thanks for your comments! I’m already enjoying it. I think Leah is a great teacher!

  3. Diane says:

    I like your fabric choices. Sometimes that can be a challenge in itself. I’ve followed Leah for several years and can say that you will gain a lot from her. Don’t give up. Set aside time each week to work on improving your skills. Have fun!

  4. Dena says:

    You have a great start. One day I will be able to participate in a quilt along.

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog everyone!

  6. Leah Day says:

    Welcome to the group and congrats on all your firsts!

  7. Stacy says:

    Your talent for story telling is what brings me to your blog every time Pat – be it books, or quilting, or running – or anything else! Thanks for sharing – and good luck with the project!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

