happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

“Hunger Games”

on February 2, 2012

I started reading “Mockinjay” by Suzanne Collins yesterday. It’s the final book in the Hunger Games trilogy. It’s a very popular young adult series, which I swore I would never read because of the extreme dislike of young adult fiction I developed after reading the” Twilight” series. (more about what finally persuaded me to read “The Hunger Games” later).

Have you read or are your planning to read this series? A word of warning, this may (or may not) contain spoilers!

“The Hunger Games” is a dystopian novel that pits children against each other to fight to the death. Ewww! Another reason I didn’t want to read it. But  it was an interesting story, and I really liked the heroine Katniss. She seemed like a very strong and independent character. She was certainly no Bella, ready to destroy herself for some “man”! However, as I continued reading I got a little concerned that they were setting up the heroine as torn between two boys. Was it going to be “Twilight” all over again, with “Team Gale” and “Team Peeta”? It did feel a little different to me though. It entered my mind that the story did remind me of something else – the Star Wars love triangle: Princess Leia, Han Solo, and Luke. So I became convinced that Gale was actually Katniss’ brother.

“Catching Fire” was a major disappointment! I felt like it was just a repeat of the first book. However, tt did nothing to convince me that my “Star Wars” theory wasn’t right though. There were clues everywhere!

I had to take a break before I read “Mockinjay”. I was assured that it was better than “Catching Fire”, but I was just too annoyed to read any more about the Hunger Games for a while. So now I am finally getting around to finishing the trilogy, mainly to see if my theory is right.

So you ask, why did you bother reading this trilogy that you really had no interest in? The answer is I heard that the actress Jennifer Lawrence was cast in the movie. I had seen her in the movie “Winter’s Bone” and thought she was amazing. After reading “The Hunger Games” I can see why Lawrence was cast in the role. I do see a lot of the character of Ree Dolly (Lawrence character in “Winter’s Bone”) in Katniss Everdeen. They are both tough, independent teenagers struggling to help their families survive. And she is an actress that can really take a punch!

By the way, if you enjoy movies with relentless poverty, violence, and hopelessness, “Winter’s Bone” is the movie for you! Seriously, it is a good, but definitely not a feel good movie. And just as a side note, “The Hunger Games” has way more violence and death in it then “Winter’s Bone”. (Which is based on a novel by Daniel Woodrell).

The Hunger Games movie comes out March 23rd, and I’m looking forward to seeing it. How about you? Have you read the books? If you have, how did you like them? Just please don’t tell me my Star Wars theory is wrong – I may lose the will to finish!

Leave a Reply

