happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Imaginary Boyfriends

on March 1, 2012

I couldn’t let the day go by without paying tribute to my very first imaginary boyfriend – Davy Jones! So sad to hear about his death, but just hearing a Monkees tune makes me happy. Whenever I hear “Daydream Believer”  it transports me back to a much simpler time. A time when my biggest problem was convincing my best friend that their was no way in the world that Mickey Dolenz was the cutest Monkee!

In the spirit of imaginary boyfriends, I offer two reading recommendations: “I Think I Love You” by Alison Pearson about, what else, a David Cassidy obsession. And then of course, there’s  “Bridget Jones’ Diary” by Helen Fielding. Bridget starts out with a crush on Mr. Darcy as played by Colin Firth in the BBC version of  “Pride and Prejudice”, and ends up with a Mr. Darcy of her own.  If only life were like this!

3 responses to “Imaginary Boyfriends

  1. Very sweet tribute to Davy. It was a simpler time and hearing his voice always made me swoon!

  2. Trish says:

    I hate to admit this, but considering Jonathan Brandis (God rest his soul) was my first imaginary boyfriend… I think if I were 13 years old right now, I would be planning my imaginary wedding to Justin Bieber. I’m a sucker for the baby faces!

  3. Stacy says:

    Thanks for the recommendation.. I will definitely be checking out “I Think I Love You” – How about you Janet – after seeing David Cassidy a little while ago it is only right! As to crushes.. it was Donny Osmond all the way! And when he was on Dancing with the Stars I did not miss a show or a chance to vote for him! lol

Leave a Reply

