happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

“She Got Up off the Couch”

on March 4, 2012

I find myself on the eve of what feels like a momentous day. For the first time in over 30 years I will be working at a full-time job outside of the home.  At a time in life when many people are contemplating retiring. And yes, it’s a good thing! I am excited, proud, and yes, a little nervous.

Throughout my marriage, I have been a work from home kind of gal. I raised my children and I did the paperwork for my husband’s business. I always knew I was lucky to have the luxury of being home with my kids as they were growing up, but the thing that really surprised me was that I was not really a “homebody”. I often missed being out in the world.

When my youngest child started high school, I felt I was at a crossroads. I contemplated  getting a job. It had been so long, I thought no one would hire me. I was afraid I liked the idea of a job better than I would like an actual job  I actually said to myself, “I will only get a job if I can work in a library.”  Sometimes the voices in your head say something incredible and life changing – be sure to listen!

Surprisingly quickly, I found a job as the part-time circulation clerk at the library that was three minutes from my house. Eight years later, I am the full-time library manager of a library. Anyone that knows me, knows this is my dream job.

Years ago, I read a memoir by Haven Kimmel called “A Girl Named Zippy: Growing up Small in Mooreland Indiana”. It was a mostly sweet memoir of  Kimmel’s childhood. But the character who fascinated me was her mother, who supervised her household from the couch, where she ate snacks and read paperback novels. When Kimmel released her next memoir entitled “She Got up off the Couch: And Other Heroic Acts from Mooreland Indiana”, I knew immediately who it was about, and that I had to read it. It did not disappoint.  Do we find what we need in books, or do the books we need find us?  I have faced some tough decisions over the past years, and looking back, I find that most of the time, the toughest part of a decision is saying “yes” – getting up off the couch.

I was a child who often was admonished for having “my nose stuck in a book”. I think my parents were afraid that I was cutting myself off from the world, and they weren’t entirely wrong. But a person’s path in life is not always the expected one and I like to think all those books taught me to be open to new experiences and opportunities. I still often have my nose stuck in a book, but I’m off the couch much more these days. And today I feel that books do not close me off from the world – they have opened the world up to me in  ways I never dreamed of.

4 responses to ““She Got Up off the Couch”

  1. Trish says:

    Woohoo, go Mom!!!

  2. Janet says:

    Good luck Pat.

  3. Stacy Kutner says:

    Have a fab first day.. and many great days to follow – surrounded by books and sharing your love of reading with many others… Thank goodness for books… and for couches, even if just for inspiring up to get up and get going (after we finish the book.. of course!)

  4. […] “She Got Up off the Couch” (happypathbookclub.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

