happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Happy Birthday Girl Scouts!

on March 11, 2012

The Girl Scouts turn 100 this week. I think the actual birthday is March 12th. I remember this date, because when I was a Girl Scout, we had a little ceremony on this date and it also happened to be my brother’s birthday.

Girl Scouts have been a part of my life for a long time. My mom signed me up for Brownies without asking me, and I was terrified. But for a shy child, Girl Scouts are great. The members of your troop have to be your friend – the Girl Scout Law ends with the phrase, “be a sister to every Girl Scout”!

I have great memories of meetings, crafts, camping, and trips. I wish I could say I loved selling cookies too, but I never did. I enjoyed eating them though, and to this day I am a sucker for a little girl peddling Girl Scout cookies. I have to be careful though – I think I hold the land speed record for polishing off a box of Thin Mints!

My amazing Mom also managed to combine being a mother of nine with being a Girl Scout leader and cookie mom for a couple years! I never followed in her footsteps as a leader, but I did put in my time as a cookie mom for several years.

In 2005 I found myself in Savannah, GA accompanying my daughter on a trip she was taking for a job interview. While she was at her interview, I knew exactly what I wanted to do – tour the Juliet Gordon Lowe house. I found myself surprisingly moved to be at this mecca of the Girl Scout world. I remember my Girl Scout handbook describing the Birthplace, and how every Girl Scout should try to visit it someday. And here I was!

My daughter ended up with the job in Savannah. My former Scout could not resist the lure of the Juliet Gordon Lowe Birthplace either, and a call with an offer to volunteer ended up with a gig leading tours through the Lowe house on an occasional weekend. The people she knows who still work there report there are big doings there this month!

In honor of Scouting’s 100th Birthday, I’ve found the perfect book to read: “Girlchild” by Tupelo Hassman. I brought it home last week when I read this description of it:

“Rory Hendrix is the least likely of Girl Scouts. She hasn’t got a troop or even a badge to call her own. But she’s checked the Handbook out from the elementary school library so many times that her name fills all the lines on the card, and she pores over its surreal advice (Disposal of Outgrown Uniforms; The Right Use of Your Body; Finding Your Way When Lost) for tips to get off the Calle: that is, Calle de los Flores, the Reno trailer park where she lives with her mother, Jo, the sweet-faced, hard-luck bartender at the Truck Stop.”

This combination of reading and Girl Scouts sounds like a winner to me. I must admit, I was a big reader of the Girl Scout handbook too. I don’t really remember why! (Although, I’ve been known to read anything – when getting ready to paint baseboards, my husband yelled at me for reading the newspapers I was taping to the floor.) It sounds like it might not be the happiest of novels, but with the influence of the Girl Scouts, I’m hopeful that there will be a happy ending!!

One response to “Happy Birthday Girl Scouts!

  1. Trish says:

    I always felt bad for the girls who had their patches hot glued on. I had the best-looking, professionally sewn sash in the troop!

  2. […] I’ll tell you about a book I read that I didn’t like, because I mentioned it in this post . The book is “Girlchild” by Tupelo Hassman. I had high hopes for this book – the […]

Leave a Reply

