happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

And…We’re back!

on March 30, 2012

It’s been too long since I’ve been blogging. Life got a little hectic there for a while, and something had to give. This time it was the blog. But what I realized was, I missed blogging, so maybe next time something else will go by the wayside instead!

So what was it keeping me so busy? Beginning to work full-time (like), packing for a trip (dislike, but accomplished) , trying to leave the house in a presentable state (dislike, and not really accomplished – it’s a bummer coming home to a house you have to clean!), trip to New Orleans (love), catching up on the season premiere of “Mad Men” (which I missed while in NOLA), and massive amounts of personal & business paperwork (which I should be doing right now, but I’m blogging instead!). Not to mention the training I’m supposed to be doing for the Broad Street Run ( I hope that run this morning burned off at least one of those beignets I ate this weekend). And of course, there were several books to be read in the course of the last few weeks!

But more about all this later. This week was book club week, and it was a good one. The book was “Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt” by Beth Hoffman. Everyone really liked the book, and while their were many funny parts, the discussion questions made us realize it was serious too. Some of the questions were pretty deep. It reminded me in many ways of “The Help” and brought back fond memories of visiting the beautiful city of Savannah.

Betsy did a beautiful job with the refreshments! She really pulled off that famous southern hospitality with delicious chicken & egg salad sandwiches, peach & raspberry cobbler, peach iced tea & lemonade. Everything was yummy! (Wait, I think I have to go for another run!).

It was also a meeting full of hustle and bustle and the promise of new beginnings. We had the excitement of the school board meeting, with Stacy dashing out in the middle of book club to speak in favor of full day kindergarten. (Yay, it passed). And the beautiful new book club baby was passed around (so sweet!). By the way, the new mom looks amazing. And it does get it easier, and sooner than you think it will. For me it was when I took my new baby in for her six-week checkup. The doctor said to me: “She’s perfect, whatever you’re doing keep doing”. After all these years, I still remember those words. What a gift they were – they eased so many doubts and gave me confidence in myself as a mother. So Lauren, I’m not a doctor, but “he’s perfect, whatever you’re doing, keep doing”. I know you’re on the right track. I also remember visiting my mom as often as possible, just to have someone else hold the baby for a while!

It wasn’t the calmest book club meeting in the world, it felt very much like the rest of my life right now. Running in many directions and a little frantic. But if I ever get that seed packet of zinnias growing (thanks, Betsy), they will be a beautiful reminder of a night spent with strong women whose names I’m glad were written in my life book.

13 responses to “And…We’re back!

  1. Leah says:

    Pat I love your blog!

    Every time I get the email with it in there I know I will have a ton of much needed smiles and a few laugh out louds!

    Keep up the blogging (and the running… I know I’m happier when I come home from a run to a dirty house than skipping my run to stay inside a clean house!) Looking forward to your next post and hopefully book club 🙂

    • Leah, we missed you at book club! Thanks for the love and encouragement – I was afraid everyone would stop reading because I hadn’t posted in so long. As for running, most of my blogs are written in my head while I’m running, so i guess I better keep it up!

  2. Norene says:

    Pat, I do as well love your blogs even though this is my first comment (I promise to get better with that). I did not know that you were a runner, gopd for you! Good luck with the Broad Street Run. I’ve watched that run from the sidelines once and it was amazing seeing the runners. I will try to cheer you on this year. Maybe we’ll have a bookclub meeting on Broad Street cheering on Pat!!! I still have not finished Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt but am enjoying it! Keep blogging!

    Norene

  3. Trish says:

    Not so perfect anymore, ha! You can still keep doing whatever you’re doing, though 😉

    I loved Cee Cee Honeycutt. Brought back great memories of Savannah! Also – I am still not unpacked and I have not run since NOLA! EEK!

    • Perfection is over rated! But I think you’re pretty great. I just got my laundry done today & I had to force myself to run by letting myself stop at 3 miles.I still feel sluggish from all that food! I’m going longer on Sunday.

  4. Beth Hoffman says:

    Hi everyone!

    I wanted to sneak in here for a moment and thank you for reading my novel. I’m tickled that y’all enjoyed CeeCee’s story and grateful for your kind words!

  5. Beth Hoffman says:

    Well, you’ve just made my day! Thanks again to you and everyone in your book club!

  6. Betsy says:

    Hi Pat-

    Guess I missed your blog e-mail- just got it this morning.. crazy week! Thanks so much for your kind words. The book lent itself so nicely to a theme for food!!! It was a fun night! Glad we are not a “stuffy” book club- haha!
    You are right – Lauren looked fabulous and what can we say about our new book club baby! It’s always so amazing to me what holding a baby can do for you!
    Hope you get to plant your zinnias- my thought with the seeds was that as the flowers bloom over the summer it will be a nice reminder of good times and friendship!
    Good luck with your training!!
    See you in a month!!
    Betsy

  7. Stacy says:

    Pat – well thanks for my misting up moment of the day… Jordan is perfect! And should definitely visit with his grammy every day! I have to tell you I felt so warm and supported at our meeting – watching everyone’s excitement and gushing over our new baby boy and then after I dashed out and came back to find all my friends routing for my latest cause! you are all the best. As to the book – a definite win in my book. What warm and wonderful feelings it brought – and a wonderful tear or two that felt good (not that cold kind! lol) Congrats on the post from the author. How wonderful to see someone who cares so much about what her books bring to her readers! See you all at the next meeting – one of my favorite days of the month!

  8. Lauren says:

    Your post brought such a smile to my face 🙂 Thank you Pat, you are wonderful!!

  9. […] “Saving CeeCee Honeycutt” by Beth Hoffman hosted by Betsy @ […]

Leave a Reply

