happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Taking the Plunge

on April 22, 2012

   I recently read a book for another book club and the discussion was canceled. And I had really liked the book! I had even made notes about what I had liked. (I never do that!). So… here’s what I thought…

The book was “The Dive from Clausen’s Pier” by Ann Packer.

Cover of "The Dive From Clausen's Pier"

Cover of The Dive From Clausen's Pier

  I had suggested the book, about an engaged couple, Carrie & Mike, whose lives are changed permanently by “the dive from Clausen’s pier”, because I thought it would present good topics for a thought-provoking discussion. However, I found myself procrastinating whenever I thought of reading it. It sounded too heart breaking. I was right about both. It was heart breaking and thought-provoking.

The central dilemma of the book  is the question Carrie asks herself, “How much do we owe the people we love?”

What points would I have made at book club?

1.I thought the book beautifully illustrated what it was like to be 23 and feeling as if  you should have your life figured out, but not really having the first clue. At 23, you are nowhere near having your life figured out. Does anyone ever figure it out? I think we gradually learn, as Carrie does, that those things we simply love to do, so much that we often dismiss them as not important because they are so fun, are very often the keys to finding contentment in our lives.

2 . In my opinion, serious illness, does not change a relationship. It pares it down so you see only what it essential and true in the relationship – how much do you really love this person, and how much do they love you?  Much more accurate than a daisy.

daisy from below

he loves me, he loves me not - (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3. And  what about those two guys? I personally wanted her to run like heck from both of them. And I was kind of mad at her mother for not saying so!

4. I loved the descriptions of Carrie and her sewing. I could totally relate to the feeling of escape that Carrie felt as she sewed. And it made me want to go fabric shopping!

Well, I didn’t get to say all that at book club, but at least I got to say it here.  I also dusted off my sewing machine and started a new project. Well ok, I re-started a project I started a year ago. I’m liking it better now! 

And I got to practise adding images to my blog!

Nederlands: Singer naaimachine - 31K32 (detail...

This is a pretty sewing machine, but I'm glad mine's a little more modern. Not a Bernina like Carrie's though! Maybe someday. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 responses to “Taking the Plunge

  1. Janet says:

    I also procrastinated reading this book and finally started it last night. I couldn’t put it down. I agree there is alot of discussion material in it. We’ll have to chat once I finish it.

  2. Beth says:

    I also loved the book and was excited to talk about it. .

  3. Stacy says:

    Sorry we did not get to discuss the book. I admit that I didn’t get around to reading it… I tried to get it on tape so I could listen at work.. seems once I leave work I have way more fun visiting the new little man in my life. However – I loved your post and especially the picture of the sewing machine. It brought back a wonderful memory from my childhood. My mom and dad could both sew, and we had a similar black singer sewing machine that in our playroom. I remember you had to turn the wheel to get it started, and the foot pedal was a big wide metal thing – although it was electric. It reminded me of the Christmas my sister and I opened up matching ponchos, pants, and dresses with absolutely fabulous fringe on the edged of the poncho that I am sure my mom sewed on that same machine. So thanks for the happy trip down memory lane!

Leave a Reply

