happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Say it with flowers!

on April 29, 2012

                  It was April book club this past week, and we got our May flowers a couple of days early, because our book was “The Language of Flowers” by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.

As I began reading the book, I was afraid the subject matter was going to be too serious for our cheerful book club, but I quickly became engrossed in the book. I loved it, and so did everyone else at book club.

It was not filled with this :

Gerbera Daisies

Gerbera Daisies - Cheerfulness (Photo credit: carolynconner)

   But  with this:

Peony close-up

Peony - anger (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

     and

Lavendar flower

Lavender - mistrust (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But also:

Mistletoe berries in Wye Valley

Mistletoe - I surmount all obstacles (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  and:

Tionesta, Allegheny National Forest.

Moss- maternal love, which grows without roots. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Reading through the Dictionary of Flowers at the end of the book, it would be pretty easy to make a case that all the feelings & emotions represented by the flowers in the dictionary are present in the book also.

This was such a lovely book and I think many of us were curious about Vanessa Diffenbaugh, a first time author, who seems like a pretty amazing person too. Here’s a video clip of her talking about the book. And here’s another link to a story about how she came to write the book. 

The book has been optioned as a movie, but not cast yet. The names mentioned online for the role of Victoria Jones are Mia Wasikowsa or Emma Stone, but I think Rooney Mara would be great. She certainly has the look of someone who could be ravenously hungry all the time, but more than that, I think she gave a very moving portrayal of an  emotionally withdrawn young woman  in “The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo”.

Thanks to Pat for another fun book club night with lots of yummy treats & flowery surprises. Here’s a big cyber bouquet of: 

Lisianthus aka Eustoma from Lalbagh Garden, Ba...

Lisianthus - Thanks Pat! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 responses to “Say it with flowers!

  1. Trish says:

    Aw my favorite here is moss – so true! I’ll have to look up my wedding flowers now, before I commit to anything! 😉

    • Yes, you should check out the meanings first – I had violets in my bouquet and now I found out they symbolize “modest worth”. Boo! And I must admit I was secretly hoping you would pick hydrangeas because I love them. After finding out they symbolize “heartlessness”- not so much. (I still think they’re beautiful though!)

      • Trish says:

        Since I’m going with yellow I had to look up the Daisy – definitions I found say “innocence,” and “loyal love.” I’ll take it!

  2. stacy says:

    As always Pat, you capture the spirit of our books and book club beautifully – this time through the gorgeous photos you found that say it in a language we are all coming to love. For me – I would like to add Caterbury Bells: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canterbury_Bells – Gratitude, because I am so grateful that we found such a lovely way to keep connected. PS.. I am so thoroughly impressed with your new technical ability – links and pictures!

    • Thanks Stacy, glad you enjoyed it! I could have gone on and on posting pictures of flowers, but you have to stop somewhere. I must say, this month’s book did make me wish I was more of a gardener!

  3. […] 4/12 ”The Language of Flowers” by Vanessa Diffenbaugh at Pat S’s […]

Leave a Reply

