happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Shiver Me Timbers!!!

on June 22, 2012

Even though our book club discussion of this book won’t be until next month, I couldn’t resist writing about “Treasure Island!!!” by Sara Levine. I enjoyed it so much, I would give it !!!!! instead of !!!

I confess, I did read Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic before reading Levine’s novel. Like our heroine, I had never read it, considering it a “boy book”. While I don’t think it’s necessary to have read the original, I do think it added to my enjoyment of reading “Treasure Island!!!” I understood more of the references and I had already looked up “coracle” so I knew what the heck that was!

This is what a coracle looks like

Reading reviews of this book, I got the impression it is one people love or loathe. I wonder what it says about me that I loved it so much. I read it in just two days and it made me laugh out loud several times. It is original and unexpected. The heroine (or would you call her an anti-heroine?) is mean, mean, mean. I confess, in much the same way as reading a sad book leaves me feeling sad, this book left me feeling a little mean, with a tendency to say mean but amusing (at least to me) things to people I love.

I’m looking forward to seeing what the other members of our book club thought of it. I think it will make for an interesting discussion. I plan to read it again before the meeting to see if my feelings change on a second reading, and also because I just liked it that much. It’s been a very long time since that happened.

Sara Levine  has written  a brilliant, funny novel. And I’m not saying that just to be nice. Because apparently I’m not!

2 responses to “Shiver Me Timbers!!!

  1. […] I already discussed the book in this post, I won’t rehash it too much. It was a fun book to discuss, and I was so curious to see […]

  2. […] Treasure Island!!! by Sara Levine. This book surprised and delighted me. It started me on my “mean girls” reading […]

Leave a Reply

