happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Pat’s Top Five(ish) for 2012

on December 31, 2012

Happy last day of 2012! The past few weeks I have been bombarded with lists of the best books of 2012, and it made me want to compile a list of my own!

I composed my list from books I read in 2012, not books published this year. Books that made the cut made me stay  up late at night reading, made me laugh out loud, or made me quick run to see what else that author had written. Number 1 did all three.

Here’s my list:

5. (tie) Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese and State of Wonder by Ann Patchett.  They both conjure a wonderful sense of place and have really interesting characters. Verghese reminded me of John Irving and “State of  Wonder” reminded me of “Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver.

4. Treasure Island!!! by Sara Levine. This book surprised and delighted me. It started me on my “mean girls” reading kick.

3. Heading Out to Wonderful by Robert Goolrick.This was beautifully written and incredibly heartbreaking. Very memorable.”Let me tell you something, son. 
When you’re young, and you head out to wonderful, everything is fresh and bright as a brand-new penny, 
but before you get to wonderful you’re going to have to pass through all right. And when you get to all right, stop and take a good, long look, because that may be as far as you’re ever going to go.” Very dark book indeed!

2. Velva Jean Learns to Drive by Jennifer Niven. I loved Velva Jean and was happy to find such a likeable and plucky heroine to root for.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. This book was the whole package for me! If your whole package includes a happy ending, you better skip it though! This book is original and suspenseful with characters you love to hate and hate to love.  I went on to quickly read Flynn’s previous novels. I would rate them in order of publication:  “Sharp Objects” good ,  “Dark Places” better, and  “Gone Girl” best. Isn’t that what we all hope for- to get better with time and experience? I eagerly anticipate her next novel!

How about you? What were your favorite books of 2012?

3 responses to “Pat’s Top Five(ish) for 2012

  1. Trish says:

    I’ve only read one book on this list… at least it was #1!

  2. […] Pat’s Top Five(ish) for 2012 Jan […]

  3. […] that time of year for new beginnings, resolutions, and… “best of 2013″ book lists. I added my own list at the end of 2012. But I don’t think I’ll do that this year. Instead I’ll list a couple of authors […]

Leave a Reply

