happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

One Post, Two Books

on July 19, 2013

  I don’t know what it says about my life they I never got around to posting about the June Book club meeting. Some people might say they were too busy, but I know it is closer to the truth to say I haven’t given enough priority to the right things.
And how bad is it that I had to look at my calendar to remind myself of not only what we read in June, but also what we read in July?!
June: “Seating Arrangements” by Maggie Shipstead. Unfortunately, I don’t remember much about the discussion. I do remember sitting on Kathy’s beautiful patio enjoying delicious refreshments and fun conversation. And really, isn’t that what book club is all about? I do remember that I didn’t really like this book. Didn’t like or care about the characters and was kind of bored by the story.
July: “Looking for Me” by Beth Hoffman. I really like this author and the book had very interesting characters that were fun to talk about. Beth Hoffman’s characters and settings are so vivid.

I was disappointed that I didn’t follow through with my idea to have a craft component to the evening, especially after everyone commented how the book gave them the urge to paint a piece of furniture!
In the spirit of craftiness, I will share a project my husband and I completed over the 4th of July weekend:

Awesome thread holder!

Awesome thread holder!

In truth, I can’t remember what valuable contributions I made to the construction of this besides saying, “hey, do you want to make this for me?”. Well, I did pick the color…

As someone (Stacy!)said to me recently, “Pinterest is the devil”. I think my husband wholeheartedly agrees! But I really need to clean and organize my sewing room. So far my thread is organized! Baby steps!

In spite of the mess, I have been plugging away at my goal of finishing some quilts. For all you BHS Drama fans, here’s a quilt I started a couple of years ago – finally completed!

BHS Drama Quilt Front

BHS Drama Quilt Front

I used the back of the T-shirts with the cast lists on them for the back of the quilt:

BHS drama quilt back

On to the next project!

Since it has been so long since I posted I am making this post extra long. Here are two books I read recently that I really enjoyed:

graham

tigers

If you are a fan of Lauren Graham from “The Gilmore Girls” and “Parenthood” (I am!) you’ll enjoy this fun, optimistic book about a young woman struggling to make it as an actress in New York.

“Tigers in Red Weather” is definitely not as light-hearted,but it is a good story, beautifully written. And how great is that cover?This book  made me want to sit on a hot beach with a cold martini – a good summer read! What good books have you read lately?

Hope you’re all having a great summer!

2 responses to “One Post, Two Books

  1. […] I ran into while reading this book was the fact that I had recently read “Tigers in Red Weather”. That book was also about 2 friends and yearly visits to a summer-house. I had a little trouble […]

  2. […] and taking them to the next level. He always supports me and my crazy ideas whether they are small (thread holder) or big (starting work full-time at a time in life when most people are thinking of retirement). […]

Leave a Reply

