happypathbookclub

our book club reads happy books!

Leap!

on February 23, 2015

First things first – I missed last month’s book club. Boo me! (and there’s a very good chance I will be miss this month’s meeting to – I have to work, I think. Boo me again!)

Last month’s book was “The Divorce Papers” by Susan Rieger. I had  a very hard time getting into this book and the details of it just didn’t stay with me. My biggest recollection about it was skimming (and when I say skimming ,I mean skipping) through all the boring (to me) legal documents. I am really curious to see how everyone else liked it – what was the consensus – thumbs up or thumbs down?

So on to unfinished business. In my last (long ago!) post, I hinted that I had picked a word for 2015. For about 6 months or so, I have had this postcard propped up on a shelf in my sewing room.

leap

The  postcard is an advertisement for a fabric line and  was included in a package I received of fabric purchases.

I must admit, when I first read it my initial thought was, “that’s not true!” A picture of an empty swimming pool and disastrous consequences of leaping  popped into my mind! But I knew that wasn’t the intent of the card and it really gave me food for thought (especially the fact that my mind had instantly gone to that dark place!) At the time, I was working (struggling!!) with designing this quilt:

hot mess

I was really feeling like giving up. I didn’t have to complete it, I  had been inspired by a particular fabric to create a wall hanging for my office. No one would know or care if I never finished it. But I got that postcard in the mail and I propped it on my shelf and it began to give me the message: try something, eventually something will work. And eventually I came up with this:

qt2

 

So, I have changed my attitude about this little postcard and it still is propped up on shelf. I no longer see empty swimming pools! Now when I’m not sure how to get something done, I just start, and work it out as I go. And it has made me more aware of the many people who always are there, willing to help. So that is why I decided to make my word for 2015 “Leap”. And that is why, in addition to book club books, this year I will be reading books like this:

IMG_2012

I started classes to get my Masters. It feels like a big leap for me, but so far, exciting and good. I have leapt,and so far, the nets have appeared!


2 responses to “Leap!

  1. Congratulations on the LEAP! and on the new start. I have gotten so much better at just trying things, net or no net. Why? Because usually no bad thing will happen either way, and at the worst, I’ll have learned something I didn’t expect I needed to know. The other day I was beginning a new border for my current medallion quilt and feeling fairly uncertain. (I design as I go.) But I kept telling myself “trust the process — trust the process!” And in fact I did continue with trust. Though my border isn’t assembled and attached yet, I have all the blocks made and arrayed, and I will love it. LEAP. Trust the process. Or my word for 2015 (and 2014, as far as that goes): EXPERIMENT!

  2. stacy says:

    so excited for your word.. and your new adventure into learning! If ever studying at BN (great place to read and sip!) let me know – always ready to help with a study break!!!!!

Leave a comment